Fears and Inspirations

I’m about to embark on my first overseas trip in five years. The flight alone would’ve killed me one year ago – the pain of sitting being so intense. So it’s a good time to reflect where the past five years of pain have taken me.

This video clip came into my inbox this morning of Phyllis Greene, who started blogging from bed rest, like me, but who is in hospice. She’s 90 (as her blog, appropriately, is called wedeb90). It’s inspiring to see that. I have a 99 year-old friend who’s on Facebook. She too inspires me. She’s not moving around as much as she used to, but the bottom line is that new media can enable us to reach out and be active in communities in ways that we never could before, providing opportunities to feel much less isolated and alone. We’re lucky to be living in the new media age to have these opportunities.

Soon I’ll be on the longest flight I’ve taken since I was pregnant and this pain journey began. I’m taking all of my pain medications along, and I have all of my other pain management tools that I’ll bring also. Let’s hope I don’t go over the weight limit. Wish me luck!

5 responses to “Fears and Inspirations

  1. I hope the flight goes as well as possible for you. Sending good thoughts!

    We really are lucky to have so many opportunities to contact with other people in pain. I’m not sure I could do it if I wasn’t connected through the Internet.

  2. I am so impressed you are taking an overseas flight. I’m still only doing 2 hour trips by car or plane.

    I feel incredibly fortunate to live in the new media age. Thanks to you for sharing your experiences.
    .

Leave a Reply

