Back on Track… the Slow Track

I get a lot of people asking me all the time “so are you getting better?” I’m happy to report the answer is yes, but it’s slow going. I still haven’t gotten back to where I was before the injections yet, so I expect I lost about a year of progress in that ten minute procedure last summer. But I’m back to the point where I’m able to walk a bit, get more done around the house, and I’m starting to see friends more again. This is big news for me, even though I’m still in a lot of pain. It’s manageable pain and I can make it to work meetings and appointments with my cushion and pain meds. That’s progress.

(Photo from the office of my new physical therapist.)

I traveled last month as an experiment. It was a short flight, Southwest, good leather seats that don’t irritate as much as others. I still had to take extra pain meds to make it through the flight, but that’s something I can do when I don’t have to drive. I also made it through a movie at a movie theatre with the same pain meds, and a concert. So while it’s irritating and disruptive, I am able to get out and do things which helps immensely with the depression and frustration I tend to feel when the flare-ups come.

When I first launched this blog, I meant to write more about daily life, to share more stories from my regular days as a mom trying to manage pain and take care of a preschooler. I still want to do that. My life is lived mostly on my iPhone, so I’m trying to get into the habit of at least writing posts in apps there that I can publish from the laptop later. Thanks everyone for continuing to visit and I really appreciate the comments and feedback especially from others who have suffered from similar injuries. I keep this blog going so we can all continue to help each other.

2 responses to “Back on Track… the Slow Track

  1. Thank you so much for writing. It helps to read stories from others who are dealing with PN. I feel so isolated and at times depressed. I’m sorry that anyone else suffers from this debilitating injury that can change life so drastically. On my good days I can focus on what I can do (walk, cook, laugh, drink wine,). It really helps. On bad days, my depression gets the better of me with thoughts of “why me” and wanting to jump out of my skin to avoid the pain.
    I’m now listening to a body scan relaxation CD hoping it will help me and my pelvic floor to learn to relax and decrease the pain. I’ll keep you posted. May you find your way to pain free days.

  2. Hang in there. I have found that a lot of doctors don’t really believe in CFS and they seem to think I was making it up, but the book “Beat Sugar Addiction Now!” is written by a doctor and he knows so much about it. I feel like I learned a lot about my own body just by reading the section on CFS, and it made me annoyed that no one had told me this before. I started reading the book because I thought it was a diet book and would maybe help me lose weight, and if I wasn’t carrying around so much weight maybe I would feel better overall and be less achy. But it’s actually a whole part on CFS is in it and I learned a lot about my hypothalamus that I never knew before. The information is good and smart science but not too hard to understand. You need to find help if you have what I have-so much pain it hurts to pull my shirt over my head or bend down to tie my shoes. I had to start wearing ugly crocs just because they were easier to put on and more comfortable, and that is not who I wanted to be-a fat person in unstylish shoes who has trouble getting in and out of the car. I feel like if I can find a doctor who will help me and I can do what it says in this book, I will get a lot better. It is written very convincingly and you can tell he knows what he’s talking about. Plus he has a list to help you find doctors that treat CFS and I am ready to get treated and stop feeling like my nerves are exposed every time I move. Here’s the website for Dr. Jacob Teitelbaum: http://endfatigue.com/

Leave a Reply

